Do I Qualify For Delta Airlines Skymiles Medallion Status?

Do I Qualify For Delta Airlines Skymiles Medallion Status?

Yes, any loyal customer, aka Delta Airlines frequent flyer, can qualify for Medallion status. The airline has a minimum requirement for the total number of miles that you must have in your account, and you can qualify for the Medallion Status levels.

If you are a frequent flyer with a Skymiles membership on Delta, it’s better with a Medallion-level benefit. Delta Airlines Medallion status is rewarded to the most loyal customers of the airline. It is to appreciate your commitment with plenty of benefits not available to other general travelers. So, are you ready to get more opportunities to fly and save? Read more about how you can reach the highest level medallion status with Delta and get the maximum rewards.

Three Basic Benefits of Qualifying for a Medallion Level

When you qualify for a Delta Airlines Medallion membership under skymiles, you earn the status for the next year starting in the current year. The three basic benefits you get with it are:

  • Unlimited Complimentary Upgrades

Delta customers with Medallion Membership can get the benefit of complimentary seat upgrades most of the time they travel. The airline also offers upgrade certificates to enhance their travel experience in a better manner.

  • Earn More Miles With Each Tier Medallion Membership

You can earn more miles while you level up in your Medallion tier. A Delta Airlines Platinum level member earns way more than a Gold or Silver member.

  • All fees, including Baggage fees, are Waived-off

Delta Airlines Waives off the baggage fees and more for its customers who have a higher medallion status. Customers can enjoy exceptional discounts as well.

Apart from these, Delta Airlines even allows customers to enhance their experiences with more options like managing flight flexibility and complimentary onboard services. So, if you qualify for a level, your benefits will begin.

Are Skymiles and Delta Medallion Memberships Different?

No, these are two entities of the same frequent flyer program by Delta Airlines. The passengers who have a Delta skymiles membership can qualify for Medallion status bit-by-bit when they start earning.

Delta Airlines usually allows customers to earn skymiles membership status levels on qualifying Main Cabin flights or above. Let’s move further and learn more about qualifying for the Medallion Status and earning more miles.

How To Qualify for a Delta Medallion Status?

To qualify for Medallion membership on Delta Airlines, customers can fly a qualifying main cabin or above flight with the airline. Through this, you can also start earning towards the status levels, and when you earn enough Skymiles in your account, you step up a level.

You can earn MQMs, MQSs, and MQDs on most Delta and its partner airlines flights. Here is how these work:

MQM(Medallion Qualifying Miles)

You earn these miles on Delta Airlines based on the distance you fly and your fare option, except for Basic Economy fares. You can also accelerate your progress towards Medallion Status with Status Boost.

Customers even earn bonus MQMs each time they reach a spending milestone with an eligible Delta SkyMiles American Express Card. ( This offer is going inactive starting 1 Jan 2024)

MQS(Medallion Qualifying Segments)

Delta Airlines also allows its customers to earn Medallion Status towards the number of flights they take with it. The airline has a different requirement for the number of MQS for each customer as per their flying pattern.

MQD(Medallion Qualifying Dollars)

This option is only available for customers who are based in the US. Delta allows qualifying customers to earn based on the amount they spend on booking flights with the airline itself or it’s major partners.

Till 31 Dec 2023, Delta also has a waiver for MQDs, which allows them to waive the MQD requirement for Silver, Gold, and Platinum Medallion status after making at least $25000 purchase with an eligible Delta Skymiles AMEX card. (the offer will become unavailable on January 1st, 2024)

What Are the Different Tiers of Medallion Status on Delta Airlines?

Every Skymiles member can get close to a Delta Medallion Status tier by taking qualifying flights with Delta Airlines. There are four different tiers- Silver, Gold, Platinum, and Diamond. Each tier offers advantages to customers and special rewards only for the members. You can simply personalize your experience with Delta through one of these.

1. Silver

This is the entry-level tier, which requires 25,000 Medallion Qualification Miles (MQMs) or 30 Medallion Qualification Segments (MQSs) and $3,000 in spending on Delta flights. Benefits include priority boarding, complimentary upgrades when available, and waived baggage fees.

2. Gold

This tier requires 50,000 MQMs or 60 MQSs and $6,000 in spending on Delta flights. In addition to the benefits of the Silver tier, Gold members also get access to Delta Sky Clubs, priority security lines, and waived same-day confirmed fees.

3. Platinum

This tier requires 75,000 MQMs or 100 MQSs and $9,000 in spending on Delta flights. Platinum members receive all the benefits of the Gold tier, plus higher upgrade priority, fee waivers for award ticket changes, and waived same-day standby fees.

4. Diamond

This is the highest tier, which requires 125,000 MQMs or 140 MQSs and $15,000 in spending on Delta flights. Diamond members get all the benefits of the Platinum tier, plus the highest upgrade priority, waived fees for same-day flight changes, and access to Delta’s exclusive VIP lounges.

Moreover, a Medallion member gets the best seat as a reward from Delta Airlines and other benefits explained above. The airline also offers many airport benefits, which include Priority check-in and boarding for all tier members.

Important Note: Each year, the Medallion Status Qualifier changes for customers, and they have to reach a new status by the end of every year to maintain their spot. Call the Delta Airlines customer service team to understand how you can get the best possible options for 2024.

What is Delta Airlines Medallion Priority Phone Number?

If you have any tier on Delta Airlines Medallion Membership, you can get phone line priority from the airline. Customers can directly call 1-800-323-2323 anytime in the USA and get help from Delta agents before others.

Medallion members benefit via this Line:

  • Priority when placing and changing reservations
  • Priority when contacting customer service
  • Expedited issue resolution

Other expedited services for Medallion members are:

  • Priority check-in and security lines
  • Priority boarding
  • Upgrades on flights subject to availability
  • Waived baggage fees

There are also some other benefits depending on their medallion status level with Delta Airlines.

Final Words

You can get a qualifying status or Medallion membership level upgrade by following our above instructions. If you want more information, you can connect to Delta Airlines customer service team and get the best assistance from airline supervisors.

See Also: How many miles do you need for a free flight on Delta?